Mike & Mike
Colin Cowherd
Josh Cohen
Evan Cohen
ESPN West Palm Tonight
Inside the Cage
SportsCenter AM
SportsCenter AllNight

Boca Raton Bowl

Wrong version or no version of Flash detected

FAU Picks Up Sun Belt Postseason Honors

Dec 05, 2012 -- 1:56pm

By Brian Rowitz

Today the Sun Belt announced postseason awards. FAU had a few impressive individual efforts this year from players but placed zero guys on the 1st team. Three players were named 2nd team while two more picked up Honorable Mention honors. Here are the awards followed by how I voted on each:

Player of the Year
Ryan Aplin (Arkansas State, Sr., QB)
My Vote – Antonio Andrews (WKU)

Offensive Player of the Year
Kolton Browning (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Jr., QB)
My Vote – Ryan Aplin (Arkansas St)

Defensive Player of the Year
Quanterus Smith (WKU, Sr., DL)
My Vote – Quanterus Smith (WKU)

Freshman of the Year
J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, Fr., WR)
My Vote – J.D. McKissic (Arkansas St)

Coach of the Year
Todd Berry, Louisiana-Monroe
My Vote – Todd Berry (ULM)

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense

QB - Ryan Aplin (Arkansas State, Sr)
My Vote – Ryan Aplin (Arkansas St)

RB - David Oku (Arkansas State, Jr) / Antonio Andrews (WKU, Jr)
My Votes – Antonio Andrews (WKU) / Shawn Southward (Troy)

WR - Brent Leonard (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr) / Anthony Amos (Middle Tennessee, r-Sr) / Chip Reeves (Troy, Sr)
My Votes – William Dukes (FAU) / Chip Reeves (Troy) / Brent Leonard (ULM)

TE - Jack Doyle (WKU, Sr)
My Vote – Jack Doyle (WKU)

OL - Zack McKnight (Arkansas State, Sr) / Micah James (Middle Tennessee, Sr) / Aaron Fortenberry (North Texas, Sr) / Kyle Wilborn (Troy, Sr) / Adam Smith (WKU, Sr)
My Votes – Bryce Giddens (Ark St) / Zack Mcknight (Ark St) / Kyle Wilborn (Troy) / Adam Smith (WKU) / Mason Y’Barbo (North Texas)

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

DL - Ryan Carrethers (Arkansas State, Jr) / Tourek Williams (FIU, Sr) / Emeka Onyenekwu (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr) / Quanterus Smith (WKU, Sr)
My Votes – Quanterus Smith (WKU) / Tourek Williams (FIU) / Gerrand Johnson (ULM) / Emeka Onyenekwu (ULL)

LB - Nathan Herrold (Arkansas State, Sr) / Jake Johnson (South Alabama, Sr) / Andrew Jackson (WKU, Jr)
My Votes – Andrew Jackson (WKU) / Nathan Herrold (Ark St) / Jake Johnson (South Alabama)

DB - Johnathan Cyprien (FIU, Sr) / Jemarlous Moten (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr) / Brynden Trawick (Troy, Sr) / Jonathan Dowling (WKU, So)
My Votes – Johnathan Dowling (WKU) / Brynden Trawick (Troy) / Johnathan Cyprien (FIU) / Kevin Byard (MTSU)

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams

K - Brett Baer Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr)
My Vote – Brett Baer (ULL)

P -Brett Baer Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr)
My Vote – Brett Baer (ULL)

Return Specialist- Reggie Whatley (Middle Tennessee, r-So)
My Vote – Reggie Whatley (MTSU)

All Purpose - Antonio Andrews (WKU, Jr)
My Vote – Antonio Andrews (WKU)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense
QB - Kolton Browning (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Jr)
My Vote – Kolton Browning (ULM)

RB - Benny Cunningham (Middle Tennessee, Sr) / Shawn Southward (Troy,Sr)
My Votes – David Oku (Arkansas St) and Jordan Parker (MTSU)

WR - J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, Fr) / William Dukes (Florida Atlantic, So) / Harry Peoples (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr)
My Votes – Antony Amos (MTSU) / Je’Ron Hamm (ULM) / Harry Peoples (ULL)

TE - Nexon Dorvilus (Florida Atlantic, Jr)
My Vote – Nexon Dorvilus (FAU)

OL - Caylin Hauptmann (FIU, Sr) / Leonardo Bates (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr) / Jonathon Gill (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr) / Andrew Huval (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr) / Josh Allen (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr)
My Votes – Aaron Fortenberry (North Texas) / Darius Johnson (MTSU) / Andrew Huval (ULL) / Rupert Bryan (FIU) / Andy Czuprynski (FAU)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

DL - Tim Starson (Arkansas State, Sr) / Omar McLendon (Middle Tennessee, Sr) / Alex Page (South Alabama, Jr) / Tony Davis (Troy, Sr., DL)
My Votes – Tim Starson (Ark St) / Tony Davis (Troy) / Christian Ringo (ULL) / Eddie Porter (Ark St)

LB - R.J. Young (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr) / Zach Orr (North Texas, Jr) / Kanorris Davis (Troy, Sr)
My Votes – Justin Anderson (ULL) / R.J. Young (ULM) / David Hinds (FAU)

DB - Brent Harstad (Florida Atlantic, Sr) / Isaiah Newsome (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Jr) / Kevin Byard (Middle Tennessee, r-Fr) / Zac Whitfield (North Texas, Fr)
My Votes – Brent Harstad (FAU) / JaJuan Harley (MTSU) / Zac Whitfield (North Texas) / B.J. Scott (South Alabama)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams
K - Brian Davis (Arkansas State, Jr., K)
My Vote – Will Scott (Troy)

P - Will Atterberry (North Texas, Sr., P)
My Vote – Will Atterberry (North Texas)

Return Specialist - Antonio Andrews (WKU, Jr., RS)
My Vote – Antonio Andrews (WKU)

All Purpose - Deon Anthony (Troy, Jr., All Purpose)
My Vote – Deon Anthony (Troy)
All-Sun Belt Conference Honorable Mention
Taylor Stockemer (Arkansas State, Sr., WR); Qushaun Lee (Arkansas State, So., LB); Daniel McKinney (Florida Atlantic, Jr., WR); Andrae Kirk (Florida Atlantic, So., LB); Rupert Bryan (FIU, Sr., OL); Jose Cheeseborough (FIU, Sr., DB); Terrance Broadway (Louisiana-Lafayette, So., QB); Jaron Odom (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL); Je’Ron Hamm (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., WR); DaCorris Ford (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr., LB); Logan Kilgore (Middle Tennessee, r-Jr., QB); Josh Walker (Middle Tennessee, r-Jr., OL);  Cyril Lemon (North Texas, So., OL);  Mason Y’Barbo (North Texas, So., OL); Enrique Williams (South Alabama, Jr., LB); B.J. Scott (South Alabama, Sr., DB); Corey Robinson (Troy, Jr., QB); Eric Thomas (Troy, WR, Jr.); Kawaun Jakes (WKU, Sr., QB); Jamarcus Allen (WKU, Sr., DL)

Return to: FAU Blog Blog



  • Recently Updated


    • Yuengling Event 09/28/14

    • Monday Night Legends at Waterway Cafe - 09/22/14

    • FAU Coaches Show 9/22/14


There are no games scheduled for today.

There are no games scheduled for today.

There are no games scheduled for today.

An Ad has not been trafficed here..